Important Car Seat Information
As a parent, one of your many jobs is to keep your children safe while riding the in car. Choosing the right car set and car seat position for your child’s age and weight is one way to protect them. Eight out of 10 children are not in a proper car seat.
Below you will find information about Louisiana child passenger laws and additional resources for child passenger safety information.
Louisiana child passenger safety laws
Children under the age of six or less than 60 pounds must be in a child restraint system that is age and size appropriate.
Children under one (or less than 20 pounds) must be in a rear-facing child safety seat.
Children ages one to three (or between 20 and 39 pounds) must be in a forward-facing child safety seat.
Children ages four to five (or between 40 and 60 pounds) must be in a booster seat.
Children ages six to 12 must be restrained by a seat belt or age and size appropriate safety seat.
For child restraint safety tips and child accident statistics visit: www.safekids.org.
To set up an inspection with a certified child passenger safety technician visit: www.alliancesafetycouncil.org
For the American Academy of Pediatrics recommendation on child safety seats visit: www.healthychildren.org
Visit the Kohl's Cares Program here.
The Kohl’s Cares® program has supported Our Lady of the Lake Children’s Hospital for community safety and education since 2007. Kohl’s Cares® total donation to Our Lady of the Lake Children’s Hospital is $218.864.
Kohl's commitment to Our Lady of the Lake Children’s Hospital is made possible through the Kohl's Cares® cause merchandise program.
Through this initiative, Kohl’s sells $5 books and plush toys where 100 percent of net profit benefits children’s health and education programs nationwide, including hospital partnerships like this one. For more information, visit www.Kohls.com/Cares.